Promoting your page

After you have published your page to the target server and tested it, you can promote the page so that all users on the target server with the appropriate access rights can view the page.

If a promoted page with the same unique name exists already, the previously promoted page becomes the old version of the page. If an old version of the page with the same unique name exists already, that page is overwritten.

To promote a page on the target server, perform the following steps:

  1. Navigate to the Site Management page by clicking Administration > Site Management.
  2. Test the page on the target server to ensure that it is correct.
  3. If necessary, select the server where the published page resides by selecting the it from the pull-down list.
  4. Click the plus sign ( + ) next to the root page name to expand the server site tree.
  5. Right click on the label or page or URL that you want to promote, then click Promote this page. If you promote a label or a URL, the promotion takes place without further prompting. When you promote a page or a page subtree, and a page or subtree with the same unique name exists already, you must choose a customization option, as described below.
    Promoting a single page on the target server
    If you promote a single page on the target server, you choose from the following options:
    And remove customization
    This option overwrites customized preferences on replaced pages.
    But preserve customization
    This option preserves customized preferences on replaced pages.
    Promoting a page subtree on the target server
    If you promote a page subtree on the target server, you choose from the following options:
    To add and update pages and remove customization
    This option adds and replaces pages and nodes on the target portal by those from the source portal and leaves nodes that are not affected unchanged. It overwrites customized preferences on replaced pages.
    To add and update pages but preserve customization
    This option adds and replaces pages and nodes on the target portal by those from the source portal and leaves nodes that are not affected unchanged. It preserves customized preferences on replaced pages.
    To create a duplicate subtree and remove customization
    This option adds, replaces, and removes pages and nodes on the target portal to exactly match the subtree of the source portal. It overwrites customized preferences on replaced pages.
    To create a duplicate subtree but preserve customization
    This option adds, replaces, and removes pages and nodes on the target portal to exactly match the subtree of the source portal. It preserves customized preferences on replaced pages.