Check out a document

Check out a document to lock it and prevent editing.

Check out a document to lock it. Locking a document prevents others from changing the document while you are working with it. A lock symbol is displayed against items that are currently locked.

If document locking is turned on by the library Manager, when a document is being edited, it is automatically locked to prevent edit conflicts. If document approval is enabled, the document is also locked when it is submitted for approval, and automatically unlocked if approved by a reviewer with the proper authority. When you save a document as a public version, or when the document is approved, it is automatically unlocked.

To check out a document:

  1. Click the down arrow next to a document name to display the menu.
  2. Click Check Out.
  3. To unlock the document, display the context menu and click Cancel Checkout. If you cancel the checkout, any pending drafts are not saved. Also, you cannot unlock a document while a draft is pending approval.
You can also select one or more documents, then click the Check Out menu option.
  1. Click the selection box next to the document, or multiple documents, that you want to check out.
  2. Click Actions > Check Out.
To override an existing lock on another user's document, you must have the Manager role in the library. If you do not have the correct role, the document remains locked.