Draft approval

Draft documents are submitted for approval by reviewers.

Enable draft approval for a document type when you want draft documents to be reviewed and approved before they become visible to all users in a document library. A document is visible to all users with proper authority in the library unless you specifically save the document as a working draft.

Saving a document as a working draft allows you to store a partially completed or modified document for your private use. You can edit the draft as many times as you wish before submitting it. Making a document a working draft document is a good option if you need more time to work on the document.

Two types of document library users are involved in the draft approval process: authors and reviewers. The author creates and saves the document as a draft until it is ready to be submitted for approval. After the author submits the draft for approval, the reviewer or reviewers can approve or reject the document. When the draft approval process is enabled for a document type, a single user, or user group, is specified as document reviewers. The document is not published for all users of the library to view until the reviewers approve it.

To enable the draft approval process for a document type:
  1. Create or edit a document type.
  2. In the document type screen, expand Draft Approval Options.
  3. Select one of these options:
    • Never (default): draft approval is not enabled
    • Serial: draft approval is enabled. A sequence of reviewers, or reviewer groups, must be assigned to review the document. Each reviewer in the sequence must approve the document in order for it be published. If a reviewer group is assigned, one member in that group must approve in order to move to the next reviewer in the sequence.
    • Parallel: draft approval is enabled. A reviewer, or list of reviewers (this can be a group) must be assigned to review the document. Each reviewer must approve or reject the draft document. The reviewers can approve in any order, as there is no defined order for approval. For parallel approval, the default setting is that only one person from a reviewer group needs to approve the document. Uncheck this option if you want to specify that each person in the group must approve the document before it is published.
  4. Click Add approver to add a user or user group as the document approver or approvers. For parallel approval, the default setting is that only one person from a reviewer group needs to approve the document. Uncheck this option if you want to specify that each person in the group must approve the document before it becomes public.

The steps in the draft approval process are:

  1. The author creates or edits a document.
  2. The author saves the document either as a working draft, or submits the document for approval.
    • Save a working draft: the document is not visible to other users of the document library.
    • Submit for approval: the document is visible to users who have been designated as document reviewers.
    Note: The author can cancel document changes before they are approved by clicking Delete Draft when the document is selected in the Submitted Drafts view. If the document is new, it will be deleted from the document library. If the document is a modified version of an existing document, only pending changes are deleted.
  3. The reviewer locates the document in the Submitted Drafts folder. The reviewer can:
    • Accept the document by clicking Accept.
    • Reject the document by clicking Reject.
    • Edit the document by clicking Edit.
  4. If the reviewer rejects the draft, it appears in the author's Working Drafts view, and can then be edited and resubmitted.
  5. Steps 2 and 3 repeat until all associated reviewers approve the document.
  6. When approved, the document appears in the folder where the author first created the document. The document is now visible to all users of the library.