Deleting folders

Delete a folder from the library.

Deleting a folder permanently removes the folder and all of its contents. You can delete folders to clean up unnecessary clutter or get rid of outdated information. However, once you delete a folder from the library you cannot retrieve it. Be certain that the folder and the documents in it are no longer necessary.

If the library manager has locked the folder structure in a library, deleting folders in the library is not allowed. You cannot delete a folder that has working or submitted drafts in it. Before the delete process begins, a confirmation process runs to make sure there are no draft documents anywhere in the folder hierarchy. If a draft is found in the top-level folder, or any of the child folders, a message is displayed and the delete process is canceled.

Also, ensure that no one is working on any documents in that folder. If you delete a folder while someone else is editing a document in that folder, that person cannot save the document.

To delete a folder:

  1. Navigate to the folder that you want to delete.
  2. Click Manage folder > Delete Folder.
  3. Click OK.