Modify library configuration

Modify the configuration of a library.

You can modify the configuration for an existing library. A site administrator can also globally set values for certain library properties. The values that can be set globally are the IP address of the SMTP server, the default value of the active content filter, and the default value of the plugin.

To modify the properties of a library:

  1. At the top level of the library, expand the portlet menu and click Configure.
  2. Select whether members will be able to import from feeds. If this is not selected, members will only be able to create documents within the library or upload files from their personal computer.
  3. Select whether members will be able to navigate by categories. If this is not selected, members will only be able to navigate by folder. If navigate by categories is enabled, you must select a default navigation method.
  4. Select whether the folder tree is enabled. If this is not selected, members will only be able to navigate by the breadcrumb trail. If the folder tree is enabled, you must select a value for the breadcrumb detail. Options are to use a complete breadcrumb trail, show only the current location, or show no location information.
  5. To restrict uploads to a specific size limit, specify The max file size in bytes. Enter 0 for unlimited upload size.
  6. To restrict certain file extensions from loading, specify The file extensions which not allowed to upload. Leave this field blank to allow unrestricted file extensions.
  7. Select whether active content filtering is enabled. If this is not selected, members can include executable HTML code in the titles of their documents.
  8. Select whether document comments are enabled. If document comments are enabled, you must select whether authors and managers are authorized to delete comments, and if authors can clear comments.
  9. Click OK to save your changes. Any setting change to a document library where users are currently working in will not be visible to the users until they log out of the library and log in again.