Replacing documents

Use the Replace function to overwrite the current version of a document on an ECM server with a file from your local computer.

When you replace a document, the existing version of the document is removed. You can create a version of the document during the replace action for future reference. Click Versions on the document summary page to view or edit this version of the document. You cannot replace a document when it is checked out by another user.

To replace a document:

  1. Click the down arrow next to the name of the document you want to replace.
  2. Click Replace.
  3. Enter the path of the new file, or click Browse and navigate to the file on your computer. The local file you choose in this step replaces the document in the library.
  4. Select the Create version check box if you want to create a version of the file. You can also add information on why the change was made in the Change summary field.
  5. Click Check In to copy the document from your computer and replace the current document. You can click Save as Draft to replace the current document and keep it private for further editing.
    Note: To replace documents on the document summary page click Replace.